14 November 2022

ASME Vic – Annual Graduate Teacher Award

The Australian Society for Music Education (Victorian Chapter) will offer an annual prize for the most outstanding student completing Music Education Method Studies at each Victorian University.


  • A framed certificate
  • ASME membership for one year
  • An opportunity to serve as a new graduate representative on the Victorian Chapter Council


The candidate in each university must be a full-time student in their final year of study undertaking double music education method studies. If there is no suitable candidate undertaking double music education studies, a graduating student who shows outstanding potential as a music teacher may receive the prize. This will be at the discretion of the Head of Music Education at the relevant university.

ASME will be responsible for the provision of the prize and will not be involved in the selection. The criteria for selection, based on academic results, will be at the discretion of the university. Closing date for nominations: December each year.


The purpose of such a prize is to increase awareness of ASME and to include newly qualified music teacher graduates in the membership with the hope that these high-achieving graduates will be encouraged to take on a leadership role in the profession. By awarding these prizes, ASME will be promoting music education as a profession and seen to be a resource to new graduates in Victoria.

Congratulations to our winners:


Ben Taylor – Deakin University

Marie Kyriakoudis – Melbourne University Faculty of Education

Ally Dunk – Monash University

Jesika Clark – Melbourne Conservatorium of Music


Thomas Baldwin – The University of Melbourne Graduate School of Education

Stewart Taylor – Deakin University

Flora Cawte – Melbourne Conservatorium of Music


Jake Muir – The University of Melbourne

Anna Jones – Deakin University

Nicole Ng – Melbourne Conservatorium of Music



ASME recognises Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people as the first musicians, storytellers and educators of this land. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, acknowledging their ongoing connection to land, sky and waterways