30 July 2023

President Update: ASME National Conference and National Executive

Written by: dev

2023 National Conference

It is an honour to be recently elected President of the Australian Society for Music Education at the 2023 National Conference hosted at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music. It was wonderful to reconnect in person with colleagues and friends from around the country, the first time for our ASME community since the beginning of the pandemic. Our days were filled with inspiring keynotes, workshops, academic presentations, and performances. Of course, a highlight was attending the Young Composers Project Concert, which included Holly Harrison’s commissioned work, Riffs and Revs, performed by Ensemble Offspring. You can access a digital copy of the full timetable and abstracts booklet on our website.

We also had the opportunity to recognise and celebrate our national award recipients.

  • Teaching Award for Excellence in Indigenous Music Education: Gregg Dreise (Qld)
  • Callaway Doctoral Award: Dr Stephanie MacArthur (Vic)
  • Lady Callaway Award: David Shaw (NSW)
  • Music Educating for Life Award: John Gill (NSW), Deb Brydon & Debbie O’Shea (Qld), Sally Rounsevell (SA), Claudia Barker (Vic), Peter Sharp (Vic)
  • Fellowship of ASME: Helen Champion (Vic), A/Prof Dawn Joseph (Vic), A/Prof Robin Stevens (Vic), Deb Batley (NSW), Dr Leon de Bruin (Vic), Wendy Ross (Tas)
  • Honorary Life Membership: Jannette Kelly (Qld), Dr Antony Hubmayer (SA), Chris Narroway (SA), Prof Jane Southcott (Vic), Mandy Stefanakis (Vic), Michael Travers (Vic), A/Prof Neryl Jeanneret (Vic)

I warmly congratulate all our award recipients and encourage you to read about their outstanding work here.

On behalf of members, I congratulate and sincerely thank NSW Chapter Chair and Conference Convenor Deb Batley, along with the ASME NSW team, for their hard work in delivering a national event that was a resounding success. The next ASME National Conference will be hosted by ASME Queensland and co-convened by Dr Candace Kruger and Dr Simon Petty. It will likely be in the 2025 September/October school holiday period. Mark these dates in your calendars now and watch for details as they become available.

National Executive 2023-2025

Before the conference, the National Executive and National Council met for the first time in person since the pandemic. Successes and challenges from around the country were shared, along with strategic planning to improve the governance and operations of our association. I look forward to working closely with the following members who were elected to the 2023-2025 National Executive: Dr Rachael Dwyer (Vice President), Dr Emily Wilson (Secretary), Dr Jennifer Rosevear (Treasurer) and Professor David Forrest (Publications). I thank Dr Leon de Bruin for his leadership over the past two years, who will now serve as Past President. I also sincerely thank Wendy Ross for her longstanding contribution as Secretary to the association over nine years, who now steps down from this position.

New Logo and Website

Over the coming months, you will see the launch of our new logo and website. This significant investment will revitalise our national identity and provide a strengthened platform to advance our association’s work for members and the broader community. More on this will follow in a future message.

In the meantime, I encourage you to stay connected with ASME through chapters and online. Your membership is valued and essential in ensuring our association remains a strong advocate for music education. I look forward to serving you as President, and I welcome you to contact me anytime to discuss how ASME can better serve you and the Australian music education community.

With best wishes

Dr Jason Goopy
Australian Society for Music Education

ASME recognises Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people as the first musicians, storytellers and educators of this land. We pay our respects to Elders past and present, acknowledging their ongoing connection to land, sky and waterways